clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wyoming Team Awards

Coach Christensen has done a great job of starting new pregame ceremonies and is now starting a new post season team award banquet. Below is full list of awards winners. Check out the full UW release to find out the history behind each award.

Coach Paul Roach Team MVP - John Fletcher, Sr., DT, Erie, Colo.

Brent Schieffer Most Inspirational Player - Weston Johnson, Sr., LB, Wray, Colo.

Brian Lee Scholar-Athlete - Jesson Salyards, Sr., TE, Haxtun, Colo.

Gosar Family Walk-On Award - Ian Watts, Fr., K, Philadelphia, Pa.

Gen. Pete Schoomaker Special Forces Award - Austin McCoy, So., P, Winter Haven, Fla. - Luke Ruff, Fr., CB, Castle Rock, Colo.

Iron Man (Top Performer in Strength and Conditioning Program) - Weston Johnson, Sr., LB, Wray, Colo.

Hammer Award (Player With the Most Big Hits in Games) - John Fletcher, Sr., DT, Erie, Colo. - Ghaali Muhammad, Fr., LB, St. Joseph, Mo.

Team Captain Awards - Russ Arnold, Sr., C, Westminster, Colo. - John Fletcher, Sr., DT, Erie, Colo. - Weston Johnson, Sr., LB, Wray, Colo. - Darius Terry, Jr., RB, Colorado Springs, Colo.

Freshman of the Year - Austyn Carta-Samuels, Fr., QB, San Jose, Calif.

Defensive Back of the Year - Chris Prosinski, Jr., FS, Buffalo, Wyo.

Linebacker of the Year - Brian Hendricks, So., LB, Burlington, Colo.

Defensive Lineman of the Year - Mitch Unrein, Sr., DE, Eaton, Colo.

Offensive Back of the Year - Brandon Stewart, So., RB, Evansville, Ind.

Receiver of the Year - David Leonard, Jr., WR, Overland Park, Kan.

Offensive Lineman of the Year - Clayton Kirven, So., OT, Buffalo, Wyo.