clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cowboys release basketball schedule (finally)

Well the Pokes finally realized that the season was just around the corner and it might be a good idea to let the fans know when to show up. With the full schedule finally released today we can see who the team will face.

First impressions look like the Pokes will have no excuses if they don't improve on their 10-21 mark a year ago. The Pokes are taking part in the Cancun Challenge which does feature some decent teams including: Missouri, Providence, North Florida, Western Illinois and Lasalle. Not necessarily powerhouses but decent matchups. Indiana State will be a good matchup in the MWC-MVC challenge when the Sycamores come to Laramie.

The toughest non conference/non tournament team looks to be the Wisconsin Green Bay Phoenix who finished 22-13 last year. Other teams include UC Irvine (14-18) which the best part is their nickname: The Anteaters!! South Dakota finished 22-10 last year and Pokes travel there in December.

Watchout out the Gentlemen out of Centenary a school in Louisiana who posted a 8-21 record. Yes, their nickname is the Gentlemen. What is their mascot? Some nice guy that finishes last?

Houston Baptist Huskies finished 12-21 last year. Western State is a Divison 2 squad, Kean University looks to be Division 3. Kennesaw State went 13-20 in the Atlantic Sun Conference.

At least the Cowboys are playing an exhibition against Peru State (NAIA D2) instead of the regular season like last year.

Here is the full schedule. Just two and a half months till hoops season kicks off!


Date Opponent Site Time/M.T. (TV)
November
Sat., Nov. 6 Peru State (Exhibition) Laramie, Wyo. 8:00 p.m.
Sat., Nov. 13 Kean University Laramie, Wyo. 8:00 p.m.
Tue., Nov. 16 at Northern Colorado Greeley, Colo. 7:00 p.m.
Thurs., Nov. 18 North Florida ^ Laramie, Wyo. 7:00 p.m.
Sat., Nov. 20 Western Illinois ^ Laramie, Wyo. 7:00 p.m.
Tue.-Wed., Cancun Challenge + Cancun, Mexico
Nov. 23-24 Nov. 23 vs. Missouri TBA
Nov. 24 vs. Providence or La Salle TBA
December
Wed., Dec. 1 at South Dakota Vermillion, S.D. 6:00 p.m.
Sat., Dec. 4 Mountain West Conference/Missouri Valley Conference Challenge
Indiana State Laramie, Wyo. 5:00 p.m. (The Mtn.)
Fri., Dec. 10 at UC Irvine Irvine, Calif. 8:00 p.m.
Tue., Dec. 14 Denver Laramie, Wyo. 7:00 p.m.
Fri., Dec. 17 Western State Laramie, Wyo. 7:00 p.m.
Mon., Dec. 20 Centenary Laramie, Wyo. 7:00 p.m.
Wed., Dec. 22 University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Laramie, Wyo. 7:00 p.m.
Tue., Dec. 28 Kennesaw State Laramie, Wyo. 7:00 p.m.
Fri., Dec. 31 at Houston Baptist Houston, Texas 1:00 p.m.
January
Tue., Jan. 4 at Colorado State* Fort Collins, Colo. 7:00 p.m. (The Mtn.)
Sat., Jan. 8 New Mexico* Laramie, Wyo. 4:00 p.m. (CBS C)
Wed., Jan. 12 at TCU* Fort Worth, Texas 5:30 p.m. (The Mtn.)
Sat., Jan. 15 Utah* Laramie, Wyo. 1:30 p.m. (The Mtn.)
Sat., Jan. 22 at Air Force* Colorado Springs, Colo. 1:30 p.m. (The Mtn.)
Tue., Jan. 25 UNLV* Laramie, Wyo. 8:00 p.m. (The Mtn.)
Sat., Jan. 29 at San Diego State* San Diego, Calif. 8:00 p.m. (The Mtn.)
February
Wed., Feb. 2 BYU* Laramie, Wyo. 6:00 p.m. (The Mtn.)
Sat., Feb. 5 Colorado State* Laramie, Wyo. 6:00 p.m. (CBS C)
Wed., Feb. 9 at New Mexico* Albuquerque, N.M. 6:00 p.m. (The Mtn.)
Sat., Feb. 12 TCU* Laramie, Wyo. 1:30 p.m. (The Mtn.)
Wed., Feb. 16 at Utah* Salt Lake City, Utah 7:00 p.m. (CBS C)
Wed., Feb. 23 Air Force* Laramie, Wyo. 8:00 p.m. (The Mtn.)
Sat., Feb. 26 at UNLV* Las Vegas, Nev. 8:00 p.m. (The Mtn.)
March
Tue., March 1 San Diego State* Laramie, Wyo. 8:00 p.m. (The Mtn.)
Sat., March 5 at BYU* Provo, Utah 1:30 p.m. (The Mtn.)
Wed.-Sat., Mountain West Conference
March 9-12 Basketball Championships$ Las Vegas, Nev.
Wed., March 9 No. 8 Seed vs. No. 9 Seed 3:00 p.m. (The Mtn.)
Thurs., March 10 Quarterfinals 1:00 p.m., 3:35 p.m. (The (Mtn.)
7:05 p.m., 9:35 p.m. (The Mtn.)
Fri., March 11 Semifinals 7:05 p.m., 9:35 p.m. (CBS C)
Sat., March 12 Championship 5:05 p.m. (VERSUS)