clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Wyoming Football Grabs Several Mountain West Post Season Awards

On Tuesday the Mountain West announced it's 2011 All-Mountain West Football team and Wyoming was well represented. The most obvious award was Brett Smith taking home Mountain West Freshmen of the Year, which he locked up weeks ago. The somewhat surprising award was Coach Christensen winning Coach of the Year. I certainly believe he deserved the award but could have seen Chris Petersen or Gary Patterson winning it based on their teams records.

While Wyoming didn't have any players named to the MW first team, there were eight who made the second team.

We've got the winners posted after the jump.

All Mountain West Second Team - Wyoming

  • WR Chris McNeill
  • OL Nick Carlson
  • OL Clayton Kirven
  • DL Josh Biezuns
  • DL Gabe Knapton
  • LB Brian Hendricks
  • DB Tashaun Gipson
  • DB Luke Ruff

McNeill, Carlson and Ruff are all juniors and certainly looking to gain first team honors next year. Who could have imagined that Wyoming would actually have two offensive linemen earn conference honors after the struggles the last couple years.

Blair Burns and Tyler Strong were Honorable mention. Really surprised that Austin McCoy didn't at least earn honorable mention.