clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wyoming's Josh Biezuns and Tashaun Gipson Named to Athlon Sports All-Mountain West 1st Team

Less then two months till college football kicks off!  Less then a month till team practices officially start.  We are getting closer here folks.  Lots of sites are coming out with their picks and predictions for 2011.

Athlon Sports released their 2011 All-Mountain West teams and as usual Boise State and TCU dominated.  The Broncos had 13 players earn honors and the Horned Frogs nabbed 10 nods.  San Diego State ended up with eight and the big surprise is Colorado State having seven players selected.

Finally Wyoming got some love from the media when it came to predicting All-Mountain West teams.  In projections by Phil Steele the Pokes were completely shut out of any 1st or 2nd team awards.  Not the case here with Athlon Sports who ended up with a total of four Wyoming players earning 1st or 2nd team honors.  As can be expected all four players were on the defensive side of the ball and they are all returning senior starters.  

Here are the four players:


I fully expect Biezuns to tear things up this year on the field.  He came on very strong at the end of last year and finally found his groove on the defensive line.  In 2011 he will be much more of a true defensive end, instead of a converted linebacker.  Same goes for Gabe Knapton who moved up along with Biezuns.  Tashaun Gipson was already the best cornerback on the the team last year and now he will make play for the first without his brother on the same field. Brian Hendricks has been Mr. Consistency at linebacker for the the last two years.  

Not really surprising that no offensive players made the list.  The Pokes have plenty of talent on the offensive side but it just isn't proven yet.  Unfortunately there was no spot for Mountain West Freshman of the Year to be picked.  It certainly seems like whoever wins the QB battle for Wyoming will have a strong chance at taking that title.  That is what happened back in 2009, so may we see some history repeat itself.