clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Blue Ribbon Sports: Mountain West Predictions

New, 2 comments

Blue Ribbon Sports has posted predictions for standings and conference awards for every FBS conference.  The projections for the Mountain West look to be well done.  For standings they have Wyoming finishing fifth in the Mountain West but not a prediction for wins and losses.  At least Colorado State is behind the Pokes so this makes it look more realistic.  Interesting to see New Mexico actually get out of the basement this year.       

1. Boise State
2. TCU
3. Air Force
4. San Diego State
5. Wyoming
6. Colorado State
7. New Mexico

The All-Mountain West teams are posted after the jump.  At first glance they are identical to the Athlon Sports picks but there are a few differences.  1st team offense is exactly the same and 1st team defense is nearly identical except for one linebacker spot.  On special teams there are two picks out of four that match.  

Blue Ribbon only posted predictions for 1st team All-Mountain West while most sites are going at least with a second team as well.

Josh Biezuns and Tashaun Gipson once again make the All-Mountain West team on defense.  I'm sure LaDarius Brown will be a great WR for TCU but I don't see him winning newcomer of the year.  Horned Frogs go with a run heavy game plan and don't have Andy Dalton behind center.  Still the "to be named" Wyoming starting QB earning the title "Newcomer of the Year". 

Can Tank Carder strap on a few more power bands this year to take his game to the next level?

All-Mountain West Team

WR: Phillip Payne, UNLV
WR: Josh Boyce, TCU
OL: Thomas Byrd, Boise State
OL: Nate Potter, Boise State
OL: Paul Madsen, Colorado State
OL: Kyle Dooley, TCU
OL: A.J. Wallerstein, Air Force
QB: Kellen Moore, Boise State
RB: Ronnie Hillman, San Diego State
RB: Doug Martin, Boise State
TE: Lucas Reed, New Mexico

DL: Shea McClellin, Boise State
DL: Josh Biezuns, Wyoming
DL: Billy Winn, Boise State
DL: Stansly Maponga, TCU
LB: Tanner Brock, TCU
LB: Tank Carder, TCU
LB: Miles Burris, San Diego State
DB: Leon McFadden, San Diego State
DB: Tashaun Gipson, Wyoming
DB: Jon Davis, Air Force
DB: George Iloka, Boise State

K: Ross Evans, TCU
KR: Jonathan Warzeka, Air Force
P: Brian Stahovich, San Diego State
PR: Chris Potter, Boise State

Offensive Player of the Year

Kellen Moore, QB, Boise State

Defensive Player of the Year

Tank Carder, LB, TCU

Newcomer of the Year

LaDarius Brown, WR, TCU